SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

HCG 44 attempt

MylesGibson

This is my first try at one of the Hickson Compact Group targets. It was a bit ambitious as I am really a beginner with modest equipment, but I like a challenge and thought I would give it a go! It isn't the most visually pleasing compared to some others I've seen here, but I'm quite happy I got what I did.

My (modest) equipment list:

Scope: Starwave 102ED-R

Mount: EQ3-2 with dual axis motor drive

Camera: Canon 1000D

Total exposure time was 48 minutes. I imaged for about 1 and a half hours but the wind was high last night so being on such a budget setup, I'm lucky to keep what I did! Think I might spend another night or 2 on this to add more.

Not sure whether the closeup or the wider field view is better?

HCG 44 Night 1.png

Closeup.png

Edited by MylesGibson
  • Like 8

20 minutes ago, Star101 said:

Both are good.

More data is ALWAYS needed ;)

The wide shows at least one other galaxy, top left. 

Dave.

Thank you. Yeah, I agree, more data is always good to get! 

I was leaning more towards the cropped one but kept the wide because of that cheeky extra galaxy sneaking in!

• Like 1

For modest equipment and a rather breezy night you did very well. You've managed to capture a nice amount of detail in the galaxies, your stars are a good shape and it looks like you have a reasonable snr in your background.  I would say it was a very good session and not in the least 'a bit ambitious'.

• Thanks 1

4 minutes ago, Stargazer33 said:

For modest equipment and a rather breezy night you did very well. You've managed to capture a nice amount of detail in the galaxies, your stars are a good shape and it looks like you have a reasonable snr in your background.  I would say it was a very good session and not in the least 'a bit ambitious'.

That's very much appreciated, thanks. I was happy with what I captured but think it could be improved still with another session!