Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginner new scope advice

Hello all

I'm a beginner at all of this, always been interested in space, and deep space so now I'm looking at purchasing my first scope, need some help on deciding which one to go for, I want to use it for moon, planets, star gazing etc but i am also really interested in astrophotography. 

I've been looking at the Celestron Astromaster 130EQ or the 114EQ. 

Are there any other scopes you recommend? Budget wise I'm looking at around £200 if possible

Really appreciate any help

Welcome on this wonderful forum.

In case you are looking at AP then you'll have to increase your budget. For AP mount is the main piece of equipment and I wont recommend to go for anything less than HEQ5 which I guess is approx 700 USD. You can start with 130mm reflector. I use a skywatcher 130pds and quite happy with it. Add the cost of a camera too. 

I started with observation though. My first serious scope was 10" Dobsonian. The great views it gave me further inspired me to get into AP and I am still learning :laugh: 

44 minutes ago, Andy_Gavin84 said:

I want to use it for moon, planets, star gazing etc but i am also really interested in astrophotography. 

For £200, get a visual only scope like a Dob and take afocal snapshots of solar system objects through an eyepiece with a cellphone camera held up to it.  Also, find a dark sky location and put your camera on a tripod and take about 15 to 30 second exposures at wide angles to start getting an idea of DSO astrophotography for cheap.

• Like 2

23 hours ago, Pankaj said:

Welcome on this wonderful forum.

In case you are looking at AP then you'll have to increase your budget. For AP mount is the main piece of equipment and I wont recommend to go for anything less than HEQ5 which I guess is approx 700 USD. You can start with 130mm reflector. I use a skywatcher 130pds and quite happy with it. Add the cost of a camera too.