SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Beginner to astrophotography - is the Celestron EQ Advanced VX 6 too difficult to use as a first scope?

Hello all, 

I am new to astronomy and am new to this forum, so I hope I can learn lots from the members and also have some of my initial questions answered. Please be kind and patient with me 

I very recently (last week) bought a Celestron AstroFi 102 Mak-Cass after reading some good reviews, but have not been impressed as even with a Starsense Autoalign I have not been able to get the scope to align/calibrate to the stars needed to begin the 'EEA experience' and start to use SkyPortal to goto various planets and stars. BUT....in the short time I have used it I have managed to manually see the moon and take quite a nice photo.....which has got me thinking that perhaps what's really drawing me to astronomy is not just 'observing' but also the astrophotography side too. 

To that end, I have decided on one thing for sure: returning the 102 Mak-Cass and instead investing much more money in getting a very decent upgrade. My choices are exactly as per this post - Celestron Nexstar 6 Evo SCT or Celestron Advanced VX 6 SCT. 

Given I want to do more on the photography side obviously starting with some basic stuff (moon, planets) then progressing to more advanced techniques (deep sky), all the research I have done is pointing me towards the EQ mounted AVX. But I have also read a few articles on the setup that needs to be done each time you use the scope with the EQ mount and that is starting to worry me! Even with a Starsense Align it seems I would have to go through polar alignment each time, and then the star alignment, at the very least.  

I would like to get the thoughts of the kind members here: 

1. do you think the AVX setup is too complicated for someone who is just starting out? I am quite a techy guy so I get tech easily and can learn quick, but I am new to astronomy.