Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Can’t focus with Skyris!

Hello all, I’m a newbie...that will become very apparent in the next few sentences! I have a Celestron Nexstar 130 SLT and have a desire to take up astrophotography, I started with a few reasonable shots of the moon with my iPhone and have bought a Skyris 236C with no success. I would be greatful for any tips or advise on how to focus the moon for a start, I have uploaded a couple of photos one with the iPhone and one with the Skyris taken at the same time. TIA, Tony.

7B57558B-C2B7-4626-A0FB-5CB2A449A925.jpeg

BAA176FB-BCC9-4255-AF86-89B8F47A1252.jpeg

First of all hello and welcome  to SGL! You are in an excellent place for help, advice and support.

How are you focusing your Skyris camera? When you change out the eyepiece, which I presume you are using to take your iPhone picture, you will have to re-focus for the Skyris camera. 

The exposure looks way too high too. Try turning the exposure (time in milliseconds ms) and gain down. It's better to be under exposed rather than over exposed.  You can always lift detail out of the shadow; but once detail has been burnt out there is nothing you can do to bring it back. 

Edited by Stargazer33

9 minutes ago, Stargazer33 said:

First of all hello and welcome  to SGL! You are in an excellent place for help, advice and support.

How are you focusing your Skyris camera? When you change out the eyepiece, which I presume you are using to take your iPhone picture, you will have to re-focus for the Skyris camera. 

The exposure looks way too high too. Try turning the exposure (time in milliseconds ms) and gain down. It's better to be under exposed rather than over exposed.  You can always lift detail out of the shadow; but once detail has been burnt out there is nothing you can do to bring it back.