Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Finder scope "upside Down" and caps at the end of the scope

Hi, as in the title when aligning up my finder scope in daylight, i notice that it is upside down? is this a normal thing to occur? tried looking througt past posts, but no info found, also on my main scope theres a small cap and a large cap, is this to let less/more light through? im a complete novice BTW if the questions sound ridiculous.

Thanks in hand, Locky.

Yes. its supposed to be upside down. You can buy a right way up one, but standard ones are upside down.

The small cap on the big cap (Newtonian?) is to look at bright things like the moon NOT THE SUN!!!!!!!! by leaving the big cap on and taking the little one off. The non-removable small cap is a place to park the small cap so you don't lose it.

Kaptain Klevtsov

All astro refractors, which includes your finder scope, will present an inverted image.

Terrestrial refractors have an extra lens to present the user with a correctly oriented image.

However, the extra glass come at the expense of some light loss. In a terrestrial scope, this is of no consequence, whereas astro scopes are all about passing as might light as is practical.

With astro objects, it matters not, that the image you see is inverted.

Dave

• 9 years later...
36 minutes ago, Robbied said:

I’m so glad I found this post. As a complete novice I was wondering exactly the same thing. 

That's the great thing about SGL, even just randomly going through posts you find something that comes in useful. My problem is that I can't remember half of those posts that I thought "great that will come in useful". :) 

Jim 

• 2 weeks later...