Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Observing sites in Fife

New to the hobby, I'm looking for some reasonable sites to observe around Fife, Scotland once lockdown ends. I've seen that Loch Leven RSPB centre is used by local clubs so I guess anywhere around there that isn't obstructed would be good. Equally, East Lomond has been mentioned and is relatively high up.  Does anyone have any other favourite sites that they would recommend.

My scope is a Celestron 130EQ and I'm happy to lug it a few hundred meters from the car if necessary.

Interested here, too. I'm often in Fife, but based in Edinburgh, so East Lothian would be my main patch.

Again, I'm just starting out on this too. Watcher - I hope you don't take this as a thread hijack.

What's the recommendations about hitting the great outdoors with your gear? Any recommendations about what to look for, as a good site? I would assume there are known locations that are suitable, far away from nearby roads but safe to hang around with a lot of pricey equipment. Do you all have secret spots that you need a special handshake to find out about?

I have visions of being clobbered by a gamekeeper!

Hi Pixies,

I work in Edinburgh (when I'm allowed to go to work, that is). I've just been googling to try and find sites. Not many of them around in Scotland it seems unless you go up north)  but I've just gone with 'less light pollution than where I live' . I also thought about height and field of view. Obviously if i can find somewhere with 360 degrees down close to the horizon thats got to be worth a look.

That said, the southern sky will always be a bit polluted by Edinburgh,. I guess

I guess until we get out there we won't really know the difference.

The other thing I thought of was distance from parking. I'd be ok lugging kit a fair way as I spend a bit of time wild camping so im used to carrying weight over distance but i appreciate this might not be the case for many.