Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginner any advice welcome

Jev75

Hello all 

just bought a celestron 114 astomaster.

i am a complete beginner. I have always been interested in the stars so decide to jump in with both feet and acquire my 1st scope.
what would be the best things to try and search for 1st? 
any hints or tips would be very welcome  

many thanks  

Welcome. When I first started I used an excellent book called ‘Turn Left at Orion’. That was 2007 and I’m still using it. I would strongly recommend you invest in that. You won’t regret it.

• Like 4

Hi Jev  I second that book it's really good try and get the latest one if you can't don't worry as Cambridge press has the update pages on line , Orion is a great place to start there is rigel a blue super giant then Betegeuse red super giant , the Orion nebula just below his belt 

Hi, and a very warm welcome to the Lounge 🙂

Totally agree with Chris's recommendation.  ‘Turn Left at Orion’.  Simplistic way of navigating the heavens to find those wonderful sights & a fascinating read, also.

Steve

Edited by sloz1664
typo

Welcome to the forum, and this amazing, if frustrating hobby.

As everyone has said, Turn Left at Orion is a brilliant resource.

There are also some great freeware tools that helped me learn my way around the sky. My favourite is Stellarium https://stellarium.org. It shows you what is in the sky and where for any date and time. You can zoom in for a closeup, search for objects that you have heard about, get useful information on everything visible. I could go on. If you have a computer at all it is a great tool for learning and thinking about the shape of the night sky. I still use it every session for planning what I am going to look at.