Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Since I am very new to this, I struggle a lot. Especially when observing planets and also recently deep sky objects. My telescope is an amateur telescope and its almost 11 years old (The telescope was re used a year ago). During summer of last year I took photos of Saturn,Jupiter and a month ago took photos of Venus and Mars. About 2 days ago I stumbled upon a new thing in the sky, (Unfortunately, I didn't take a picture). It definitely was in the Orion constellation  as I had observed Betelgeuse and the 3 stars that were close to each other. After a couple of minutes later I saw 2 stars next to each other and another two which were on top of the other star, surrounding these set of stars were a blue-ish and grey-ish colour at the same time. I had done some research and many people told me it was the trapezium cluster found in Orion. I honestly don't know. Any ideas? Thanks. 

The Orion Nebula (Messier 42) is located in what is often called the "sword" of Orion, that is a line of stars that come down below the 3 "belt" stars. I've arrowed the nebula in red in this photo and Betelgeuse is indicated by the green arrow:

opo0205b.thumb.jpg.d28cafae1f09910ad0cf46b298ea9b4c.jpg

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

Just now, Jiggy 67 said:

As much as I hate to reply to a Utd fan  😀 It certainly sounds like the nebula, it’s unmistakable when you see it, unlike anything else you’ll see visually 

Haha. Thanks for the info. MANCHESTER IS RED!

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

12 minutes ago, John said:

The Orion Nebula (Messier 42) is located in what is often called the "sword" of Orion, that is a line of stars that come down below the 3 "belt" stars. I've arrowed the nebula in red in this photo and Betelgeuse is indicated by the green arrow:

opo0205b.thumb.jpg.d28cafae1f09910ad0cf46b298ea9b4c.jpg

Thanks.