Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Magnification gap

miguel87

Thanks in advance for your advice and opinions.

I have been enjoying visual astronomy for almost 10 years. I currently use a SW 200P (focal length 1000mm).

My current eyepieces (6mm, 9mm, 20mm and 32mm plus a 2x barlow) leave a gap between 50x and 100x magnification (that would be an eyepiece of 11-19mm).

Question 1, will it be significantly useful to fill this gap?

Question 2, if so, what should I fill it with?

I recently considered the 15mm BST StarGuider, however, with a 60° AFOV the resulting view would show me 0.9° of the sky, only 0.1° different to the 1° displayed by my 50° AFOV 20mm eyepiece.

Thanks,

Mike

Edited by miguel87
Spelling

Hello.

A gap of your 9mm to your 20mm is a large gap on eyepiece spacing when it comes to magnification availability ,and I am not a big fan of Barlow's personally.  So yes I do feel you would benefit from filling this magnification gap.

What to fill it with depends on your budget. But I would consider a second hand TV Delos 14mm with 72d fov or maybe consider a Vixen if you can locate one, a second hand Vixen LVW 13mm with a 65d fov. Two great mid range price eyepieces IMO .

Hope this helps

Edited by Timebandit
  • Like 1

2 hours ago, Timebandit said:

Hello.

A gap of your 9mm to your 20mm is a large gap on eyepiece spacing when it comes to magnification availability ,and I am not a big fan of Barlow's personally.  So yes I do feel you would benefit from filling this magnification gap.

What to fill it with depends on your budget. But I would consider a second hand TV Delos 14mm with 72d fov or maybe consider a Vixen if you can locate one, a second hand Vixen LVW 13mm with a 65d fov. Two great mid range price eyepieces IMO .

Hope this helps

Thanks for the reply,

I get on pretty well with my barlow so I find creating a 10mm eyepiece more than acceptable at the moment. Still a big gap tho.