Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Sky Watcher 130PDS or ST80 or 104

The colour correction on the ST80 isn't brilliant and the ST102 is pretty much the same assuming you meant that one so they're probably not great choices if you're planning to use a DSLR.

The 130PDS seems to have a lot of fans here (I think it may have its own thread for images) and I think it would outperform either of the other two, though perhaps you may get some coma with a DSLR?

James

If you've got a mount capable of astrophotography with a 200p and you're used to using newts (collimation etc) then the 130 PDS seems a reasonable choice. Coma corrector will be required too for decent stars right to the edge, of course a CC could always come later tho. I liked my 130 PDS so much I bought two in the end !

I had an ST-80 as a guidescope but I didn't really rate it for photography. I have no experience of the ST-102.

Edited by Spaced Out

Years back there was an SGL member who was on a tight budget and started imaging with something like a Canon 500D and ST102.  He did really pretty well, I thought, but he was always fighting with bloated stars and flaring in his images.

If you wanted to try an ST80 then you'd probably have little trouble moving it on later if you weren't happy with it as they're quite popular as guide scopes or finders for large dobs.  I'm keeping an eye out for one at the moment myself, in fact.  On the whole though, I think the 130PDS is just a better bet straight out of the gate.  An image with obvious coma around the edges of the frame can always be cropped down if a coma corrector isn't immediately feasible.  There's not a huge amount you can do if different parts of the spectrum aren't all in focus at the same time though.

James

2 hours ago, Aramcheck said:

With the 130dps & DLSR the focus drawtube has to extend quite a way into the OTA, which shows up on images with bright stars.