Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello, I am an amateur astronomer that wants to get into deep-sky astrophotography. I already have a telescope which is Celestron Nexstar 127 SLT but it doesn't meet the requirements to take photos of wide field nebulaes/galaxies, (Ex: Orion Nebula, Andromeda Galaxy). I need some help on what to use and afford! It has to be under £550.

I need a 70 or 80mm optical tube, with a mount that does polar alignment and can be attached to the optical tube then I need a Canon camera that can take long exposure high ISO photos and last a filter or two to help reduce light pollution and contrast the nebula/galaxy more!

This is just for my birthday, I do not expect the best!

I just need a beginners setup.

Hi and welcome.

With that sort of money there is really only one option and that is going to be rather tight.

Look at 72mm ED doublet from skywatcher and star adventurer mount.

Such combination is good for what you are after - larger things like Orion nebula and Andromeda galaxy.

Anything bigger than such small portable wide field setup is going to cost much more. Next mount in size is about the whole budget unless you shop second hand. 80ED scope is also about that much new (with accessories that you are going to need).

In fact even Star Advernturer and 72ED doublet is likely to get you over budget once you add needed bits and pieces - like LP filter and T2 adapter for your camera and such.

9 minutes ago, William Productions said:

Is there filters too for dimmer nebulae such as Horsehead Nebula, Heart Nebula etc?

Hi and welcome to SGL.

Different nebula emit more strongly in some wavelengths than others but best not to worry about that with a DSLR, just a light pollution filter of some sort if you suffer from it but not essential so you can make a start without one.

You will get better value for money buying second hand but obviously more hassle depending which part of the world you live in.

Dave