Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Defective columns in ccd sensor

glafnazur

Hi everyone,

I've seen an Atik 460EX mono ccd camera for sale second hand however the advert states that 'The sensor does have 2 defective columns and if you use cosmetic correction in pixinsight, they are column 418 : rows 30-2199 and column 2463 : rows 180-2199.' I am a newbie just starting out in astrophotography and from what I've read this is a good camera and the price is very good but I don't want to buy this if these defective columns would be a major issue. Any advice here would be most appreciated.

Dave

It's not usually a column that is defective but a single pixel that has been damaged by radiation in some way.  The way data is readout then means that this error is added onto every pixel in that column (hence the statement a defective column).  Most CCDs will pick up these errors over time.  The older the CCD the more likely you will have them.  They can usually be calibrated out just fine. In certain software you can tell it where the defect is so it can be manage better (such as in Pixinsight)

Edited by Whirlwind
Updated

54 minutes ago, glafnazur said:

Hi everyone,

I've seen an Atik 460EX mono ccd camera for sale second hand however the advert states that 'The sensor does have 2 defective columns and if you use cosmetic correction in pixinsight, they are column 418 : rows 30-2199 and column 2463 : rows 180-2199.' I am a newbie just starting out in astrophotography and from what I've read this is a good camera and the price is very good but I don't want to buy this if these defective columns would be a major issue. Any advice here would be most appreciated.

Dave

I would say that is fine but I would expect it to be cheaper than a camera with a perfect sensor. If not then they come up quite often so do to feel like you need to go for one with an issue. 

Adam

Edited by Adam J

5 minutes ago, Adam J said: