SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Eyepieces for a SW 250 dob

Hi all I’m a newbie to all this and have just brought a skywatcher 250p Dobson 

but only have a 2x Barlow and a 25mm eye relief 1.25  lens I’m guessing it’s a standard one that came with it any suggestions on what kind of eye pieces sizes etc would be ideal for viewing planets  only got it 2 days ago lol so I’m very new and don’t really want to spend to much on the wrong things 

There r so many companies with 3 to 5 lines of eps that can be a good up from the ones that come with it

I think any plossls  or super plossls will be better, like omni super plossls 

Meade 5000 HD 60 are ok

Es has least 3 sets of eps 82 68 50 eps

Bst seem to be popular however I dont have those

Tele vue would be better corrected in a f5 scope but cost alot altho TV has plossl line

U can try used market get really good quality for good price since they used

If u can find used TV radian on used market u may find for 80 each which is really good.

Joejaguar 

Edited by joe aguiar

If you want something that improves on what came with the scope but does not cost a fortune the BST Starguiders are well thought of on this forum :smiley:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/bst-starguider-eyepieces.html

For planets I would suggest the 8mm or 5mm focal lengths or alternatively the 12mm which you could use with your 2x barlow lens to give a 6mm equivalent.

• Like 2

Hi @CLOUD90 and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

+1 for the TeleVue Radian, (now discontinued and superceded by the DeLite's), I have the 6mm. Radian's have 60deg AFOV, (DeLite’s have 62deg AFOV). Nagler's are nice too at 82deg AFOV. They are a bit more expensive than Radian's or DeLite's.