SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Greetings from Somerset.

BlueStinger

Hi, I'm new to all of this skywatching stuff although always had an interest in the planets when a kid. Anyway, back in Jan this year I noticed a very bright 'star' in the evening sky. I'd seen it many times before but this time it peaked my interest for some reason. Curious as to what it was I found a neat phone app called Skyview and soon realised this was no star but Venus, of course, Doh! Before long I was snapping a few night shots with my P20 Pro and got hooked at looking up each night it was clear. I fell in love with Orion, with it's dimming Betelguese and near perfectly alligned belt. And I knew that middle star in the sheath was the nebula, but alas, only those with powerful, expensive telescopes could see anymore....I was happy just messing about in SpaceEngine 'til last week, when I spotted an £8 monocular on amazon, complete with mini tripod and phone holder. I knew it would be too good to be true, and of course it was complete rubbish but it does make the moon look a bit better lol.                                                                                                               

So after finding this forum, and reading up on the fact that you can actually see a fair amount with some binoculas I decided to buy some tonight. The budget is very tight so I went for a Celestron Skymaster 15x70, a tripod, a metal tripod mount and a better quality phone adaptor mount.  I'm very excited I must say, and I hope it's clear tomorrow night :D Cheers!

Edited by BlueStinger
  • Like 3

Hello There, 

Glad to have you on board - your binoculars will definitely provide you with stunning and insightful views and is a nice introduction. 

Finger crossed the skies are indeed clear for you! 

Best.., 

bsdsgl84 

• Thanks 1

10 minutes ago, Frank the Troll said:

For us locals, thats just up the road then ;)

Yes just up the road, or down the road, from you :D