SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

EEVA Lots of questions

Marvin Jenkins

I have been following this sub forum on and off for a month or so and it has peaked my interest. I have been doing basic astronomy for nearly three years and hoovering up all the info I can.

At first amazed by everything, then anything. All the discoveries, Open Clusters, Globs, Galaxies, Plan nebs, NEBS. Still amazed but something happened...

I watched a YouTube vid of a guy in the US using a big Dob (ES 16 inch) but with night vision. I thought it was fascinating.

Recently I stumbled across a website called Mantrapskies.com which appears to be one mans attempt to record photographically the entire ARP list. Now I have to say that until looking in the EEVA forum I had no idea that the ARP catalogue existed.

Now I realise that the Mantrapskies site was not EEVA but the only place I had heard ARP targets were this forum and the above website.

Now I realise they are distant targets, but what is the general idea for minimum equipment needed for ARP hunting and in particular EEVA.

Marv

• Like 1

Hi Marv,

No simple answer to your question. Popular size scopes are 6 to 8 inch aperture but EEVA can be carried out with any scope. Shorter focal length scopes will give you a wider field of view and thus are good for large extended objects - nebulae. My particular interest is galaxies (Arps, VV, SHK groups, Hicksons......) and for that I prefer larger aperture and narrower field of view.

I note you have been observing for about three years. I observed visually for 20 years before I thought about going down the digital route. I still observe visually - double stars, lunar, planets, clusters, comets and the brighter Deep Sky Objects. Personally I still prefer visual observing with no electronic aids over EEVA . If I was in a very dark sky and had silly money to spare then I would love a 30" Dob for a life time of visual work.