SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

When should I start using the motor drive?

I've got a Sky-Watcher 130M which comes with the motor drive do allow for constant adjustment across the R.A. plane as objects move. I'm also a complete newbie to stargazing (tonight and last night were my first two experiences, looking at Venus and the moon, and my collimation still probably sucks!). Right now I'm manually adjusting the R.A. axis when I've focused on something to keep my eye on it. The question is: when should I start using the motor drive in my stargazing? Do you think with my newness to it all it should come in much later and I should first get used to using it manually, or do you think it should be a used from early on.

Apologies for all the questions - am trying to learn as much as I can as quickly as I can!

I would start to use it sooner rather than later. You just need a basic polar alignment; point north and set your correct latitude, nothing overly accurate needed. The motor will help keep objects centred at high powers and allow you to observe them better.

• Like 2

I think u did another post b4 where u put u had 130m. I just wanted to with only 1 m that means meters. So should be 130mm just so u know

It wouldn't be wrong to learn how the sky moves and  learn manual, most people don't get a drive for couple / few months later.  But since u have it y not try it.

May look at venus with 150x to 200x see how kinda fast it moves at 200x?

1 hour ago, joe aguiar said:

I think u did another post b4 where u put u had 130m. I just wanted to with only 1 m that means meters. So should be 130mm just so u know

Apologies then. I thought it was the Sky-Watcher 130M as advertised on multiple sites that I own. If I was referring to the primary mirror diameter I'd have used lower case.

skywatcher.jpg.c5e177ba0353aceca19222b56fcd6140.jpg

• Like 1