SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Lunt 50 mod on a TV 102 iis?

vineyard

Hello,

I'm not sure whether this is the right category to put this in on SGL but it seems the closest.  Anyway, I think I have managed to make a mod that allows me to put the etalon of my Lunt 50THa on the back end of my 102mm refractor, and hey presto I think I have a 4" solar scope?

I'll break this post into two sections - the first is the mod itself, and the second is the journey that got me there (which was very interesting, and also entailed seeing first hand some pretty scary stuff!).  This way, if anyone is only interested in the mod, they don't need to bother reading the rest .

I should preface this by saying that I’m not an optics expert (so some of the reasoning below may be wrong, although it seems to have led to a place that works?) and of course the standard disclaimer: this is not a recommendation, I am not an expert, modify at your own peril!

THE MOD

Basically, if you unscrew the tube on a Lunt 50, you see the back bit (which has the ERF and behind that the etalon, the diagonal with the blocking filter etc).  The back bit has a male M68 thread.  So I cobbled together various adapters to create a combined adapter that threads on to that male M68 and then steps down to a 2" nose with a female thread.  Into that I put a UV-IR filter, and the nose can then be inserted into my 4" tube (like a normal 2” diagonal would).  And that's it.

So the final configuration has a 2" UV-IR filter, and then behind that the ERF that comes fitted on the Lunt 50 (and behind that the etalon, and then the blocking filter in the Lunt diagonal).  And the advantage is that I can use the better focuser on the 4” rather than the horrible helical on the Lunt.  Photos are attached.

I don't think it will work with every 4" tube - in particular I think this mod may need tubes that are designed for BV'ing (see the next bit for more on this).

THE JOURNEY