Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepiece upgrade for a 130p

Hi all,

A colleague of mine has a f/5 SW 130p and still uses the original eyepieces. He knows it's a fine telescope, but he wants to upgrade the eyepieces. He asked me for advice.

I told him it very much depends on his budget: £900 per eyepiece gets him TV Ethos, £250-300 gets him TV Delos or Delite, £100 gets him [  Baader Hyperion?  ], £40-50 gets him BST Starguider. I'm not that experienced and went straight for TV Panoptic/Delite/Delos so I can't really help him.

He said he'd be looking for perhaps 3 eyepieces, in the £100 per eyepiece range. What's best at that price point? He does not wear glasses to observe.

Advice gratefully received...

Thanks, Magnus

Which 130p? If it is one with a 1.25" only focuser then I would start over budget with a 24mm ES68 to max out the field of view. The shorter lengths he can save a bit on by going with Starguiders, BCOs or SLVs while FLO have them on offer. 

• Thanks 1

The way I do it may be different than most but this is how I do it u may choose any way u like

I base it on the telescope price so for a 130mm reflector that's like a $200price point, I would only buy plossls/ super plossls  maybe bst or something like Meade HD 60 fov 5000 eps.

If I was gonna think about spending on anything more expensive eps like badder, delites, delos, naglars or ethos I would uprgrade  my scope to a larger more expensive scope first.

I kinda match the scope to the eps

To me atleast I think to have best views I dont put $900 eps on $200 scope or I dont put $30 eps on a $3000 scope. As both the eps and scope both needs to be equal.

Again this is how I see it it may not be how u like which is fine too.

Joejaguar 

Edited by joe aguiar
  • Thanks 3

On 20/02/2020 at 21:28, joe aguiar said:

The way I do it may be different than most but this is how I do it u may choose any way u like