Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Filters, or eyepieces?

Hi all, 

I'm just getting started with compiling a collection of accessories to enhance my viewing. I want to add to the collection slowly, so i get a chance to learn from each new thing and use that experience to better inform the next purchase. 

With that in mind, i was wondering if I'd be better served getting filters earlier or later in the process?

By filters I'm sure i don't really know what I'm talking about but i see on FLO a narrowband UHC filter (unbranded) and a celestron "CLS" filter - City Light Something, or essentially a light pollution filter. Both around forty quid, which is my budget. Both sound useful for me, I'm in a red zone (urban/ suburban). I'm interested in seeing more nebula - improving the Orion nebula, i saw someone said a filter helped them see the veil nebula with similar equipment to me in similar conditions. 

So... any thoughts or advice? : ) 

i have an f/8 skywatcher dobsonian 6", with the stock 10 and 25mm eyepieces, and an 18mm BST StarGuider coming for my birthday... as well as an astro essentials moon filter and an astro essentials 2x barlow.

thanks!

Rob

If you go for filters I would strongly consider a good quality UHC filter over the CLS type. Unfortunately £40 does not really buy a good quality UHC unless its a used one. Astronomik are really good but their new price is higher than your budget:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/astronomik-filters/astronomik-uhc-filter.html

The lower cost UHC ones are not as effective and the CLS have less impact again. Sorry if that sounds a little blunt but that's what I've found over the years I've been using filters.

For the Veil Nebula, an O-III filter is the tool of choice and, again, good ones such as the Astronomik are the ones to go for. A UHC does help on this target as well but an O-III gives noticably more "punch" to the contrast of the nebulosty against the background sky.