SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What's the difference?

Aldebaran88

Hello everyone,astronomy newbie here.

I'm looking to purchase my first pair of astronomy binos  and was wondering what is the difference between the Celestron SkyMaster Giant 15x70 and the Celestron 15x70 SkyMaster Pro binoculars?

On paper they are very similar.Same magnification,same size of the lens,same type of glass -bak-4.

Why are the skymaster pro binos more than double the price of the skymaster giant?

I was looking at these 2 models because they are fairly lightweight and can be handheld for short periods.

I'm not interested in higher magnification binos because they are heavier and require a tripod.

I look at it like this: if i need a tripod in order to use my binos i  might as well get a telescope.

Thanks in advance.

I wouldn't attempt to hand hold 15x other than with image stabilization. In the birding world it is almost unheard of to hand hold at more than 10x and, in my view, with very good reason. Before anyone decides that they really can hand hold at 15x they should perform a self test by having a pair of 10x binos handy as well. Find some text at the limit of what is readable at 15x  and then try the 10x on the same text. Most poeple, though I don't insist that it will be all, will not read more easily at 15x, showing that the higher resolution is lost to the jitters.

Olly

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

I agree with Olly.

I compared binoculars for birding and found that I could see as much with 8x as with 10x because of shake.  And of course the 8x likely has a wider field of view.

In the end I bought Canon 12x36 image-stabilized binos and, apart from not focussing close in, they're great.  Of course close focussing isn't needed for astro use, for which they're brilliant handheld.  In fact I can see more with them than 10x50s. But they are expensive.