SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Skywatcher UWA Planetary eyepiece

Hi, I'm new to astronomy and seeking help.  I'm not new to the sky having watched Sky at Night for as long as I can, or want to, remember!  I have finally bought myself a telescope:  Skywatcher Skymax 127 Maksutov-Cassegrain.  With it came 10mm and 25mm eyepieces.  These, I know won't get me very far with planet viewing and so I was looking at the Skywatcher UWA Planetary eyepiece.  However, on doing the calculations re telescope focal length and eyepiece focal length this would take the magnification to 600x.  The upper limit power of this particular telescope is, again, according to the calculations 254x(mm) or 300x (in inches).  My question is: 

Would the UWA eyepiece work with my scope to produce reasonably sized and clear planet viewing? 

Also, apart from a 2x Barlow and perhaps a moon filter, is there anything else that you would recommend as a good start for viewing the planets and deep sky objects?

I also had a problem viewing Venus recently, although I didn't have the right eyepiece, the ones that came with it I understand are not useful for looking at the planets.  It was a clear night and Venus was easily visible, having checked its position before going out to make sure that the bright star in the sky was indeed Venus.  On looking through the scope I could see a bright white circle with a black centre, with some horizontal lines on the white disc.  There were also what looked like minute, transparent bugs on the white disc.  I've read a few posts that say that these are possibly floaters in the eye and you just have to get used to that?  When I refocused the lens the disc either went very blurred one way or to a small star like point the other way?  What was I doing wrong or was it because the 10mm and/or 28mm was useless for this purpose?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Edited by Stardust3