Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Confused.com!

ashbash

Hello, 

I'm a complete novice, have not even bought a Telescope yet. Going to go along to my local Cub next week, to ask for advice before I fork out dosh on a telescope.

Just looking for advice really, want to buy a used one, so been looking on e bay, willing to spend around £500. Im off on holiday to the gers region south west france in july, so the skys are going to be amazing hopefully. So would like a telescope that I could get in my car/roof box, (its a big car) want the best telescope for the money. Also was thinking about a spotting scope that could double up as telescope as the nature around there would be good to look at. Any suggestion for both. I know you guys and girls must get sick of answering the same post,lol  but any recommendations would be appreciated. 

Hello and a warm welcome to the SGL. You are doing the right thing to be going along to your local club. This will give yo a better idea of what’s available. I would not recommend buying a scope from eBay. Look at the adds on here  or on Astro buy and sell web site.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi Ash, and a very warm welcome to the Lounge. I can understand you being eager to purchase a scope. But, there is a phlefera of scopes out there to confuse the uninitiated. I would certainly visit your local astronomy club for advice and hopefully have the experience of viewing and using various scopes  to gain an understanding of your preferences. My advice, if you haven't found your ideal scope prior to your trip to France, is to purchase a good pair of 7 x 50 binoculars.

Steve 

• Thanks 1

48 minutes ago, sloz1664 said: