SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

ZWO asi178mc

stewie_w

Hi guys, if this has already been asked i apologize but i need to ask it. I was out last-night for the first time with my gear to see if i could get an image of any stars as i have been having problems since i got all my gear. I am a newbie at AP.

My gear consists of

Explore Scientific ED102 cf refractor,

ES iEXOS 100 PMC Eight,

ZWO asi178mc none cooled,

ZWO OAG,

ZWO asi120mm mini.

Software i use is

Nebulosity / APT,

PHD2 

]The problem I am having is that I cannot see anything in live view on any of the programs, so what i have done is slew to a bright star, looked at it through an eye piece to make sure i am on target, which i am, put the camera back in, and nothing! Just a black screen. So what i have done is disconnect the asi120mm and closed down PHD2 to eliminate a mix up/confusion off the cams and it is still the same. Do i need to change any settings on the cameras even though it is all set to auto? 

Has anyone else had this problem? if so could you please help me out. Any help would be appreciated.

Clear skies.

PS. Im not sure why this feed has these deft white boxes so I apologize for it.

Hi, 

I have the 178MC which I use for lunar. I use Sharpcap for this camera, and am also able to switch over to APT, which also recognises the camera. In order to pick up stars, I suggest framing and focusing on the moon, you will then know if your live view is working. Then turn up the gain and exposure levels. You might need to turn up brightness (offsett), as well. By doing this your moon image will now be extremely bright and well overexposed in your live view.