SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

meteor software recommendations

bottletopburly

17 hours ago, bottletopburly said:

what free meteor software is there for a windows machine that will work with a qhy5L5-11C, i have heard of ALLSKYeye https://www.allskeye.com/  any other free ware ?. 

What are the intentions for the meteor camera?  Do you want it to trigger on detecting a meteor?  Or just record a series of XX second videos all night?  I might be wrong but I don't think that the QHY is supported in Allskyeye?

Edited by tooth_dr

19 minutes ago, bottletopburly said:

@tooth_dr Trigger on detection , it was more that I have the qhy laying about after upgrading guide cam , if there’s no freeware about that can be used with qhy then probably won’t bother for now .

I'm not an expert on this topic, but I do have some experience. I think you will struggle with sensitivity, and only capture the very brightest of meteors.  My current setup is a Watec 902, and with an 8mm F0.8 lens I can get down to +4 magnitude meteors.  These dim ones are by far the most common.  Very occasionally the odd very bright one is recorded, but it's so infrequent.  I use UFOcapture software, but it wont work with the QHY camera.

As an all sky camera, it would probably work ok with something like SharpCap.

3 hours ago, bottletopburly said:

@tooth_dr Trigger on detection , it was more that I have the qhy laying about after upgrading guide cam , if there’s no freeware about that can be used with qhy then probably won’t bother for now .

The QHY should work with AllSkEye if you use the Ascom driver.

Mike

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

2 hours ago, pete_l said:

I would suggest having a look at what these people are doing. It will give an idea of the sorts of results that can be obtained.

https://www.meteornews.net/2018/12/16/the-2018-geminids-from-croatia-with-raspberry-pi-meteor-systems/

That's very interesting.  Thanks for the link, Pete.