Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from Northamptonshire UK

BonnyMiss

Hello all, I'm new to this and as green as they come. I have always been interested in the stars, moon etc but have never felt brave enough to dip my toe in the water so to speak, that is until last week when I picked up a Tasco 9TE-5 (whatever that means) no manual present, so I looked to my friends Google and Youtube, then I found you guys (oh joy!!)  I did manage to set it up and yes, I did look at the moon 🙂  I know it has to be me, the finderscope and the body of the scope are not 'speaking' to each other....................... I find my target in the finderscope but do not see the same object through the main scope. It also seems that the slightest bit of breeze or wind blows the whole thing off course. So far I love the potential of what a telescope can do and would it be wrong to crave for an easier scope ( and much newer)  scope for a green bud like myself?

Regards

• Like 1

Hello and a warm welcome to the SGL. You have to align the finder scope to the telescope. This is best done during daylight. View a distant object through the telescope and centre the object in the eye piece view. Now look through the finder. There should be adjustment screws which enable you to place the distant object in the finder view. I am not familiar with your scope but you should be able to do this. If the image is easily lost when viewing this is often down to the mount and tripod not being very good. A photo of your set up might help us to advise you if this can be improved.

• Like 1

Hey there welcome to SGL. I'm a fellow Northamptonshire based Astrophotographer :)

iaudrop hit it on the nose about the finder scope and main imaging telescope, once you've done it s few times it'll be a piece of cake. As for the telescope/mount recommendation yes a picture will help, and do you want to look, or take photos? And if you want to take photos then what of?

clear skies :)

• Like 1