Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

SkyWatcher Skyliner 250PX Dob vs Bresser Messier 8 Inch Dob

Hi all, another newbie here.  After reading many articles (a lot on here) I'm being driven towards a couple of options for my first telescope.  A lot argue that Bresser are better quality but is that extra quality enough to choose an 8 inch over a 10 inch dob?  Another option could be the Sky-Watcher Skyliner 200P Dob which then leaves more money for accessories.  I just want the usual things, moon, planets etc initially and not looking to get into astrophotography at the moment.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

https://www.harrisontelescopes.co.uk/acatalog/bresser-messier-8--dobsonian-telescope-4716420.html#SID=1684
https://www.harrisontelescopes.co.uk/acatalog/skywatcher-skyliner-250px-parabolic-dobsonian-telescope.html#tab-3
https://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian.html

Cheers

Mark

Hi Mark,

One of the important things to consider with a dob is where you will be using it.  If you need to get it away from light pollution then portability becomes important - you need to get it into a car.  If you are lucky enough to live somewhere without significant light pollution, then this can be less of an issue.

An 8” will give you great views of the Moon and planets but if you want to look at deep sky objects like galaxies then dark skies and extra aperture of a 10” really pays off. 

John

Hi John, yes it would involve transporting it to use it which leads me on to another question.  Do people generally take their big telescopes out into the countryside to use as I've never actually seen anyone do it?

The Skyliner and Bresser mirrors are about the same so a 10” will outperform an 8”