Narrowband

150PL - the good and the bad

RobertI

I had a great first light with my new 150PL last night - full observing report can be found here . In summary it fulfilled my hope as excellent double star splitter, clearly splitting a test pair of 1.5" separation and fleetingly splitting a pair of 1.0" separation in moments of clarity. The focuser was on the stiff side, making it hard to not wobble the scope at high mags - I may invest in £45 Skywatcher motorised focuser which many other folk seem to have done.

However, despite the excellent double splitting ability, the star test results were awful. Now I am no expert, but the extra focal image seemed sharp and more or less what you would expect, but the intra-focal image was just a fuzzy mush! I have done a very poor drawing below from memory (not sure if they'll confuse more than clarify) - extra-focal on left and intra-focal on right. If I understand the results correctly, it shows the mirror is overcorrected and possibly suffering from a turned down edge (depending on what you read). Assume the circles in the drawing are concentric and even!!

IMG_2162.thumb.jpg.3663ce17bcc9e7ae181a8c7df0442a5a.jpg

Also the in focus star didn't show the diffraction pattern I was expecting. Instead of one bright diffraction ring and possibly a fainter one, I could see several very fine and closely spaced rings of equal brightness - I don't think this was an illusion, but it was faint. Aplogies for the naff illustration again, what I was expecting is on the right, what I saw was on the left.

1622323401_Focussedstar2(2).png.adf1b6cd0ee017afcd8800ae0fdc2ce6.png

The airy disc seemd ok and well defined and the focus, whilst not 'snapping' seemd easy enough to find.

I have read that mirrors can become overcorrected as the temperature drops, but seems a bit unlikely as the scope was well cooled.

Can anyone explain what on earth is going on??

9 minutes ago, johninderby said: