SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help ..no image only bright white circle

I have a celestron astromaster 130eq. When I look through the eye piece, all I see is a bright which circle of light. Please note, the moon wasnt out last night. 

All lights were off in the house. It was pitch black outside. I moved the eye piece to try and home in on anything but it will not. The viewing focal is fixed, doesn't move and is held in place by screws. This isn't a case of blurred items, this is the scope not focusing on anything.

I've taken the eye piece out and when I look in the scope my eyes central. I've looked through the eye piece while it's not in the scope and I can see in the distance, all be it very blurred.  The caps are all off, theres nothing in the tube that should be there.

Any ideas? I've tried day and night 

20200125_155734.jpg

It does. I've taken the eye piece out and put it back in having turned it fully 360. As I did this a black shadow like an eclipse was visible, so I rotated it until this disappeared then secured with the screws again. 

17 minutes ago, andib479 said:

It does. I've taken the eye piece out and put it back in having turned it fully 360. As I did this a black shadow like an eclipse was visible, so I rotated it until this disappeared then secured with the screws again. 

Focusing is achieved by turning the wheel on the side of the focuser, not by rotating the eyepiece.

137969320_turnthis.jpg.e374d5ff4861c05fcfe1dd1d2ef2803b.jpg

• Like 1

It definitely sounds like you are not in focus, and not able to achieve focuis, but I am puzzled by the white circle at night time.

Also by the offset of the white circle I suspect your collimation is out.

Carole 

I've no idea why it was white when I was looking at a black sky. I am very confused. I bought this really for my little boy and I'm worried if I dont get this sorted it will forever ruin his interest, which will be mortifying:(