SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

mounting DSLR on EQ3-2: how ? saddle? dovetail bar?

Hello everyone, 

I am a complete beginner and have recently got my hands back on an old Sky watcher EQ3-2 mount that I bought many years ago but never used but I am struggling a bit figuring out witch part I still need and get it ready to take some pictures of milky way, moon, or other easiest objects ( deep sky, we'll see after that :) I'll start easy !)
My goal for now is to attach a DSLR ( I do have a few ultra wide angle, a 50mm 1.2, a 85 1.2 and an extremely cheap 650-1300 f/8 lens, not sure if this one will be usable for astro ) 

So far, I figured I obviously need something to polar align. I found this.
I also intend to replace the old motor batteries holder with a lithium battery (and a cheap voltage regulator I guess ?).

And I should be almost good to go, but my main problem is attaching the DSLR onto the mount
I don't know what to buy (or make, if easy enough). I am guessing that the word for what I need is a "saddle" ? and then I would need a "dovetail" female thing part, and then a dovetail bar that I can screw the dslr on ?..  I am lost with terminology and parts names :)

So that you can see what I am talking about, attached here are 3 pictures of: the EQ3-2 "head" I currently have, and also a piece of metal with a thread I made from an old spare part so I can still use it in the meantime, but it's far from perfect: it's a bit loose, and more important, it's difficult to align the lens and the prevent rotation of the camera. I guess it's good enough for milky way / 50mm, but I'll never be able to use deeper focal length that way.

So in other words, my goal is to replace that solution/piece I made, with something better. 

So.. any help, link, pointer would be greatly appreciated ! 

IMG_20200124_114635.jpg

IMG_20200124_114645.jpg

IMG_20200124_114652.jpg

Hi