SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Length of subs vs more subs

Am i right in thinking that if the histogram of my stacked images is about one third from the left then my individaul subs are the right exposure lenght and then to increase quality / reduce noise i just take more subs?

if i increase the exposure time on each sub i think id move the histogram peak right and as i understand one third from the left is where i need it to be?

I'm no expert on this yet, and I may be corrected by people who know better but I think it depends on the camera.  If you have a lot of read noise it might be worth going for longer subs providing you don't over saturate any bright areas of the image, but in general, more subs that get a histogram that doesn't clip on the left hand side is the best way to go.

• Like 1

No.

Position of histogram peak is related to this, but not as simply as 1/3 or some other rule. People are often afraid that they won't make a good image if their histogram is too far left, or too far right, but in reality their image will be just fine (with adequate processing of course).

Only difference between few longer subs and many shorter subs lies in amount of read noise of the camera, or specifically - how level of read noise relates to levels of other noise sources. Once read noise source amplitude becomes small in comparison to other noises - difference becomes too small for all practical purposes.

What does that mean? Well, depends on what camera / filters / sky conditions do you have. If you have high light pollution - LP noise will fast swamp read noise and you can use shorter exposures. Same if you have non cooled camera - thermal noise will overtake read noise rather fast.

If you have cooled camera and you do narrow band imaging (that cuts down LP significantly) - then it pays to go really long exposures like 20-30 minutes per sub.

• Like 2