Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

45mm Masuyama eyepiece usage

Sweep

Hi

I am a beginner and need some useful advice.

Looking at a Masuyama 45mm eyepiece, however with only a resulting 20 x magnification  for my 130mm refractor, I think it would not be used  much at such low magnification (binoculars territory)

Just got an es 30mm 82 degree with a magnification  of 31 degrees which should I think cover my low magnification widefield  needs?

Any seasoned advice would be most helpful thanks.

If you want good low power / wide field eyepiece, there are couple of things to keep in mind:

- with low magnification, you will get larger exit pupil. Depending on your age, larger exit pupil might be wasted. Young people have pupils that will dilate to 7mm or there about, but with older age that becomes less (6mm, then 5mm, ...). If exit pupil of eyepiece is more than this - light is wasted and you get what is effectively setup with smaller aperture (less light grasp).

Keep exit pupil up to 5mm or so

- sky brightness. Again with small magnification light from sky background is less spread around and sky is brighter (just use any higher power eyepiece and you will see how sky turns black rather quickly compared to medium/low power eyepiece). If you live/observe in areas with light pollution - again higher magnification is preferable.

- with some long focal length eyepieces, eye relief can be too much - this can mean that eye positioning is not easy and can cause blackouts and other artifacts.

- true field of view is limited by barrel diameter. This means that eyepiece with 45mm focal length and one with 30mm focal length can happen to show you same amount of sky if 30mm eyepiece is wide field (wide enough). To establish differences you need to use tools that are available like https://astronomy.tools/calculators/field_of_view/

image.png.9d31d17b13b33c4c67d109e26daab1a8.png