SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Thor's Helmet through Bushfires

MarsG76

Hi All,

This is my first time ever imaged Thor's Helmet Nebula, NGC 2359, located in the constellation Canis Major.

This image is not my finest so far but was a bit of a challenge with the Australian bushfires raging on for many months now and sending a lot of smoke into the atmosphere, blocking out a lot of the sky, crippling seeing and transparency and as a result causing me to throw out a lot of failed subs.

The subs I used for this image are a total of 35 hours 7 minutes and 30 seconds, these are a selection of the best subs for this image but I have spent a lot more time in tracking this nebula from 30 November 2019 until 4 January 2020.

This image was exposed through a Celestron 8" SCT at 2032mm focal length using a astro-modded and cooled Canon 40D DSLR.

This consists of HAlpha and OIII only, combined as HOO in RGB channels... I was going to capture SII also and create an SHO image but seeing the amount of time I spent on this object so far, I decided to stick with wht I have.. I might revisit this object next year and create a SHO image of NGC2359.

BTW the fires are not looking like they're about to go out but we have had a considerable amount of rain yesterday and today so hopefully soon enough the fires will go out...

Clear Skies,

MG

NGC2359 HOO Nov2019Jan2020 Frm.jpg

Edited by MarsG76
  • Like 23

Solid rain is not on the horizon again... it rained for a bit, and we thought that perhaps this will be a good down pour but it stopped and again it's hazy, foggy and dry....