Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Problems aligning a Celestron 127 SLT

Hi folks, complete beginner here really struggling with the basics! I bought a Celestron 127SLT a while back and every time the clouds part I'm outside trying to get it to align so that the go-to works. I'm using two-star align, the default 'point at any three stars and it works it out' simply fails . I'm at a point where with two-star align the go-to points at least vaguely in the right direction, but near the edge of the eyepiece. Here's what I've tried so far:

• Mount is level using the tripod's bubble.
  • Time is set to the second using time.is and I'm not on DST.
  • Location matches the coordinates given by both Google and SkySafari and I've made sure I'm using N and W and not mixing lat and long (that's obvious when I do, it's nowhere near accurate).
  • Laser pointer and telescope are aligned (and regardless, I try to centre the star by eye through the eyepiece).
  • My garden faces due north, so I use Polaris as my first star, then I've tried all the stars in the Plough, or flipping south to Orion's Belt.
  • Running off a Celestron PowerTank Li to give it a steady power source.

I wonder if my trying to get the star in the centre during alignment is not as centred as my eyeballs think!

So questions:

• Is that kind of inaccuracy par for the course or am I not aligning with enough precision? If I align, slew from Polaris to say Dubhe (which is then off-centre) and then back again, Polaris will be in a different place in the eye piece than when I started.
  • If use the direction buttons to reposition the star to the centre after slewing, it stops tracking. Is that normal?
  • Would buying a laser crosshair eyepiece help?

Cheers in advance!

Edited by SiD the Turtle

Hi and welcome to SGL.

Polaris is not a good thing to use for star aligning, you're better off using a couple of stars around the meridian, you can use Stellarium to find suitable candidates.