Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepiece advise please, thinking 17mm-22mm + barlow

jaydee3839

I have 1200mm FL (F/8) Dob/Newtonian that I am just getting started with.  It came with a 25mm Plossl (Orion Sirius), and I recently purchased the Vixen NPL 30mm (correction, not GSO).  I am looking to add to the collection and would like some input.  I probably won't use the 25mm Orion Sirius much as it's pretty low-end and what ever I get will likely be overlap.  Ordering from/shipping to the USA (AgenaAstro or BHPhoto or Adorama preferred vendors, but there are others).

I'd like to get two pieces sometime this year for under ~$200 total.  Then adding a final piece sometime in the future.  I would like good eye relief, as I do not personally need glasses for viewing, but I'd like to share the experience with family members, some of whom have astigamatism.  My scope is not computer controlled, so a wide angle is better to keep things in view for longer periods of time.  I don't think size/weight is a huge concern with a Dob/Newtonian, but correct me if I'm wrong.  Still lighter is better if I end up getting a new scope sometime down the line, or try one of these pieces on another scope during an event.

My current thought for this year is, a 17-22mm 68-70 deg piece + barlow, then a higher mag planentary peice for later.  After some research on this site, it appears the Baader Classic Q 2.25x is about as good of a barlow for it's price as there is.  Additionally, I read that it easily converts to 1.3x barlow also, which gives more options in a small eyepiece collection.  Here are a couple scenarios I'm considering:

Baader Hyperion 68° 17mm  ($119) + Baader Classic Q 2.25x ($59)

Mag FL Arrangement
40 30 Vixen 30mm
52 23.1 Vixen 30mm / 1.3x barlow
71 17 Hyperion 17mm
90 13.3 Vixen 30mm / 2.25x barlow
92 13.1 Hyperion 17mm /1.3x barlow
158 7.6 Hyperion 17mm /2.25x barlow

Explore Scientific 68° 20mm ($149) + Baader Classic Q 2.25x ($59)