SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Xmas present

Hi Guys,

After going on about wanting a telescope for years, my wife has just bought me an Astromaster 130 EQ for xmas. Weve set it up but being complete newbies to this were kinda running blind. Pointed it out the window and of course saw nothing but complete blackness. Could anyone give us an idea on how we get started? Thanks guys!

• Like 1

You will first need to align your finder scope with the telescope so they both point at the same point in the sky.  This is best done in the daytime by pointing at a distant object such as a house chimney pot, when you have it in view with your telescope, adjust your finder scope to point at the same object.

It is also worth pointing out that looking through glass windows is not recommended, the light will be distorted through the panes of glass.

• Like 1

silly question, but cap on the end of the main tube removed? Just like with a camera, easily forgotten :) 

Also use the lowest power eyepiece without the barlow - the one with the higher number, usually 25mm or 20mm in the supplied set.

as above, once you can see something then do align the finder on what you have got centred in the main eyepiece, will make life a lot easier when trying to target points in the night sky.

Edited by DaveL59
  • Like 2

Welcome to SGL you have come to the right place but the question you are asking is massive, I would recommend Turn Left at Orion to get you started and as already stated, astronomy is an outdoor pursuit so prepare to get wrapped up!!

• Like 1

no reason a scope can't be used thru an open window, so long as the room isn't heated and causing thermal currents around the tube. So long as you can pan around the part of the sky that interests you it's fine. I often use mine aimed thru the conservatory door, saves getting too cold :)