SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Cheap All Sky Camera - if you are interested

bthoven

I've been using this poe almost-all sky camera for over 3 years. It's not as sensitive as the more expensive ones; but it is adequate for me, in a light polluted city (Bangkok, Thailand), just for checking whether the sky is clear or not. I placed it beside my private observatory, and I have an old tablet placed in my house for easy view; even on my mobile phone.

I bought it three years ago at US$85, but now the price is reduced to only $46; so I decided to purchase another one to replace it because the dome is not as clear. Just to let the community know.

I've produced timelapse videos so you guys can see how it performs. Not sure I can post the store link. Just PM me if you are interested.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hr69kSNQP8U

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQ0aicXqQdY

tablet.png

mobile.png

starlight.png

Edited by bthoven
add photos
  • Like 4

2 hours ago, happy-kat said:

I'm intrigued and curious as the price even at the original is very inexpensive.

So am I, so I've ordered one to have a look, and if needs be, see what modifications can be made, to improve quality etc.... 

how well does the housing stand up to being "inverted" with the dome up?

I DIY'd mine using a ip-CCTV module and adapted a housing to suit and that works reasonably well so far. Another cheaper dome housing hasn't faired so well at resisting water ingress so I'll have to pull it apart and see what can be done, one day...

The Sony starvis sensors (assuming that's what this one has)  do a reasonable job at picking up the brighter stars even with the fast minimum shutter speed so like you I find its a handy day/night sky view.

You might be able to polish the dome to improve it, car headlight polishing kits might work for that, but you may also be able to source a replacement clear dome for relatively low $

Edited by DaveL59

1 hour ago, DaveL59 said: