Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

PHD2 ASCOM Calibration - Help!!!

Hello,

Complete beginner at the whole guided imaging and I am totally stuck. I cannot get PHD2 to calibrate. I have tried numerous suggestions from here and other forums, but it just wont calibrate. The issue seems to be that PHD2 will not control the mount. I am using ASCOM driver connected through wifi to my Windows 10 laptop.

1. ASCOM diagnostics pass without failure

2. POTH Hub connects and allows me to control the mount using the sw controls

3. both Explorer Stars app and Stellarium allow me to slew the mount to targets when connected via the POTH Hub

But when I am in PHD2, the mount connects, but I cannot slew using the manual guide controls, nor will it calibrate - it just climbs to over 50 west steps and then fails when I run calibration

What am I doing wrong here - really could use some help :(

info on setup:

Mount is IEXIOS PMC 8 -100 connected to laptop via wifi

Guide Camera is ZWO ASI Mini 120mm connected to laptop via USB cable - I am not using a cable from the camera to the mount

Guide Scope is Orion 30mm Ultra Mini

Edited by Miko_Skye

Hi

Lose POTH; ensure that the mount is connected via ascom (e.g. you can slew via stellarium). Make a new profile for PHD2 and choose pmc8-ascom  -or whatever Bresser call it- from the drop down menu for the mount. 

If it still doesn't work, post the link to the PHD2 debug log (help > upload log files)

Cheers and HTH

• Like 1

Thanks both for the suggestions. I reinstalled all software in the order you suggested and stopped using POTH and selected the Telescope in ASCOM and PHD2 as the ES_PMC8_Telescope(ASCOM). The issue now is that PHD2 gives an error message of "PulseGuide command to mount has failed - guiding is likely to be ineffective" 

I switched to using Cartes Du Ciel and I can control and slew the mount through that app without issue. But still no joy in PHD2 in any direction. Latest log file attached: