Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DayStar Solar Scout SS60-DS 60mm

Hi Everyone,

I'm interesting in solar Hydrogen Alpha. I'm still new to astronomy, but I was wondering if the DayStar Solar Scout SS60-DS 60mm telescope would be the best introduction to solar. I was thinking of getting one and an AZ5 mount (partly so I could also use it for the StarMax 90 on the Moon I like the idea of smaller movements with the slow motion cables).

I would love to be able to process an image with surface detail and prominences like the video below done with a PST. Is this possible (or better) with a Scout?

Edited by JBracegirdle

You should be able to equal that with the Daystar Scout which is basically a Quark with a smaller etalon attached to a 60mm refractor, you'll need a fast frame rate camera especially if your guiding by hand, I see you have a ASI224MC but mono would get you better images.

And obviously the Sun looks nothing like that ATM being sunk in it's minimum state.

Dave

• Thanks 1

Thanks Dave, that's what I was hoping, there are a few samples out there and they look good, but I've not seen many processed with a combination of exposures. I was thinking of upgrading the camera, but maybe a new mount and telescope is enough for one order. 😁

You're right about the minima, I'm an amateur radio operator as well so the two hobbies could go well together. But the good thing about the minima is things can only get better as Prof Brian Cox may sing. 😁

I thought that it was a PST mod, but he does say in the description and comments that it's the stock PST, just imaged though the eyepiece well.

He does say he thinks each PST is different and he may have got a really good one. He also says it looks better with his eyes than the image shows!