SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Absolute beginner - all pointers appreciated

Hello,

I took my first ever subs of a DSO tonight.  20 subs of 20sec each of Maia in the Pleiades (taken with a UHC-S L booster filter - it's probably the totally wrong filter to have used tonight but I was just playing around with it!).  Stacked in SiriL.  Two files attached.  The first was the stacked image saved as a TIFF and then played around with in Lightroom.  The second was the stacked image manipulated a bit in SiriL first (adjusting the histogram) and then saved as TIFF and then played around with (less so) in Lightroom.  The second image has more "info" (ie fainter stars) which never showed up in the first one.  All tips welcome & gratefully received (whether processing or original capture or anything else!).

(I have the TIFF files or the original stacked FITS files too if anyone wants to break them open).

Cheers all,

Vin

r_pp_Pleiades 9 Dec_stacked.jpg

r_pp_Pleiades 9 Dec_stacked_manip.jpg

• Like 1

1 hour ago, PeterCPC said:

Difficult to make any meaningful comment without knowing the gear used but imaging is best avoided at times of almost full Moon (unless you are doing Ha).

Peter

Oops true, apologies Peter.  Yes you're right about the moon.  I just wanted to play with the kit initially to see if I could get the tracking working (the subs were a happy conclusion to the evening).

The kit is 102mm f/8.6 refractor, on a Vixen GP2 that I've modded with motors from EQStar EQ5 in Ukraine.  I can't do polar alignment b/c Polaris is behind a tall building, so I did a rough orientation w compass & latitude setting, and then calibrated using the moon.  Once the moon was centred, I parked the scope & reset that as home, and came back 2 hrs later, unparked it, and told it to go to the moon, and it found it again perfectly.