SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Veiwing through open window/skylight

wesdon1

Afternoon folks. Listen, i'm just throwing this out there cos of positive personal experience. many many members will recoil in horror at the idea of using a Telescope indoors, but I've been viewing the Southern night skies this way for 14 months now and I've had amazing results. I basically use a skylight/window in roof of building, as my top floor flat has this in my living room. Now what i do to help mitigate thermals/bad seeing etc is isolate room by closing door. obviously heating is not on, then i leave the window wide open for a hour or more before my observing session begins, and this effectively creates a "Cold Room" for veiweing. ( Obvs in summer it's a bit more challenging, but as long as the room temp is ambient to outside, it's the same effect more or less ) and i swear to you all i've had very satisfying results, viewing most of the planets, some bright DSO's and obvs many many different stars. I just want newbies to know that if this is their only real option, then rather than miss out completely on the wonders above, they should take this path. I love my views and I also live in a Bortle 8 area! ( for the newbies, the Bortle Scale is just a measure of light pollution where you are, the lower the Bortle number, the less light pollution there is ). So please don't knock this unless you have first hand, multiple experiences! and even then, I still maintain it's a great way to view skies! The proof is in the pudding! To coin a phrase! lol

( telescopes-SkyWatcher 114/500 newt. Reflector. Skywatcher 130/900 Newt. Reflector. Skywatcher 200/1200 Newt. Reflector. EQ2 and EQ5 Mounts. Multiple eyepieces of various sizes. Filters etc )

Wes, Liverpool, UK.

• Like 6
  • Thanks 1