Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Brief observations on some wide angle 2” EPs inc Siberia 50mm Erfle

markse68

I should preface this by stating these are just some observations from me- I’ve only been in this hobby this past half year or so and am no eyepiece or optical expert- I have very little experience of eyepieces, particularly high end ones and  I’ll probably even use the wrong terms. And this is based on about an hour comparing these eps in daylight on terrestrial targets. Eyepieces compared in my 8.75” f7.3 dob.

I finally yesterday finished major upgrade to my dob which included fitting a 2” moonlite focuser. Over the past 6 months I’ve been collecting a few 2” eyepieces in preparation for this momentous event! 

So today I had first chance to try them and compare. From left- Tal 25mm Plossl (1.25” reference ep), mystery military ep of unknown fl, the intriguing Siberia Erfle 50mm (available from ENS), TV WF 32mm, TV WF 40mm

EF590746-AFF8-4C04-8592-69B9F994E15E.jpeg

My target was the HSBC building, 1.3miles from me and useful for comparing  actual field of view by counting visible window panes across the afov. This is the actual view through the Tal 25mm plossl. Mine has an unusually (for a plossl) large afov of 60deg.

DD89BFA9-EBA0-4204-89D7-36CFB5F24AB0.jpeg

7355B226-30E0-42CB-82D6-19BCE69F6B5A.jpeg

Mystery military  EP

86856859-0410-48EB-B1D2-5EF343A07BF1.jpeg