Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Should I get a coma corrector or a different scope? =(

Hi,

I am a very proud owner of SkyWatcher PDS-200 F5 newtonian reflector and I've been using it for many years now. I think I understand the process of collimation well enough. However, even with my best efforts, I still can't get crisp stars. I've tried to ensure that my collimation is good. I've tried to ensure that my focus is good. But even then, my images suffer loads of coma.

One of the best images I've been able to snap is the following. If you zoom the image up to 100%, you'll be able to see how bad coma is at the edges of the frame. I am aware that newtonian scopes suffer from coma, but is it really as bad as in this image?

For a long time, I've been mulling over whether I should get a coma corrector (how is it different from a field flattener, btw?) or a different scope that doesn't suffer from coma. But I don't have answers to the following questions that pop up in my head:

1. Should I get a coma corrector? If so, how should I go about choosing one for my scope? Can you recommend a suitable coma corrector for my scope? Should I also get extension tubes for the scope's focuser?
  2. Or should I get a different scope altogether? If a good coma corrector is gonna cost as much as a scope, I'll probably be better off getting a more portable scope. If so, which type of scope should I be looking at?

I know any discussion about possibilities for a scope is very open-ended, but I really just wanna get your perspectives on this problem of mine. Is my current scope good and am I using it wrong? Or is it bad but can be improved to perfection with a coma corrector? Or is it a lost cause and I should rather invest in a better (and more portable) scope?