Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Struggling with visual - Cocoon and Wizard Nebulae.

Ships and Stars

Has anyone been able to observe either the Cocoon or Wizard nebula? I struggled to get much from them last night, even with a lot of aperture and a good H beta filter (Wizard apparently likes the OIII - will try that one next time).

Just returned with the big dob after some DSO visual before the moon got too high. Quite clear here tonight and definitely cold, had my Swedish insulated coveralls on and a balaclava, nice and toasty. Forecast was for -2C by mid evening. Set up scope by 7:45pm at my Bortle 4 spot near home, 21.55 SQM and little artificial LP. Didn't have time to drive to the Bortle 2 spot, unfortunately.

I'm still a novice, but my goal was visual on the Cocoon nebula. My first try using an Astronomik H beta filter on the 17.5mm Morpheus. I thought it would be a piece of cake with a 20" dob and the Milky Way clearly stretching across the sky...it wasn't.

Scope did a successful align and I slewed to M57 to check. It was within inner 1/3rd of EP. I punched in IC 5146 and went over to the dark cigar lane, so I was definitely in the neighbourhood.  After briefly studying AP pics of the Cocoon this afternoon, I think I had it narrowed down between two sets of stars, it should have been bang in the middle of the EP. There was at first a dark patch where the nebula should be, but no nebulosity. Thinking my alignment was off, I slewed around the cigar looking for something even remotely obvious. Nothing.