Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Svbony SV48 500mm f5.5 results

Mick W

G'day all. I received my OTA (above) from China this week and managed to get a couple of hours imaging. The scope is supposed to be an achromatic doublet but the results don't bare that out or am I doing something wrong? As you can see from the Pleiades there seems to be massive chromatic aboration around the main stars. In the image of Capella there is a purple halo but that also shows up when I use my reflectors. I just had my Canon 650D moded (IR filter cut) and I'm wandering if that is a factor? If we get a clear night tonight I'm going to test with my Sony A7rii to compare.  I'm a bit of a newbie to AP but a pro photographer of over 25 years and theses images are not giving me the satisfaction I expected. Any pointers/advise would be most welcome.

Equipment used: Svbony SV48. HEQ5 pro. Canon 650D.  OVL Light Pollution Filter 2 Inch

Chrom.jpg

email.jpg

I'm somewhat confused with what you've written.

10 minutes ago, Mick W said:

The scope is supposed to be an achromatic doublet but the results don't bare that out or am I doing something wrong? As you can see from the Pleiades there seems to be massive chromatic aboration around the main stars.

If scope is achromatic doublet - then purple halo is very much to be expected. In fact in bottom image, level of purple halo is much less than I would expect from F/5.5 achromatic doublet. You need at least slow well corrected ED doublet to avoid chromatic aberration if not proper APO triplet.

13 minutes ago, Mick W said:

In the image of Capella there is a purple halo but that also shows up when I use my reflectors.