Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Sign in to follow this  
spikkyboy

looking for new AP kit recommendations please

Hi all, I have struggled with a CPC for a year or two. some great observations but not cutting the mustard for imaging a F10.

So, I am contemplating changing my kit.

I am interested in planetary and deep space objects so after a good all round set up.

So far I am pointed to SW80ED and the HEQ5 pro.

Any thoughts from you way more experienced imagers?

What about the SW 120 or 150ED?

Whole set up to come in under 2k.

I am not going to stick my neck out and give you a recommendation but I will give you my experience. I have been imaging for only about 2 years (a surprising small number of clear nights!) and started with a cheap 90mm scope on a standard HEQ5 using a DSLR and got some OK images.  I then bought a second hand C8 and used a focal reducer so I was imaging with a FL of about 1250 (6.3 x 2000) ,  again a few OK images but the angular view was so tight I needed to guide, which itself is a challenge with a C8 unless you use an OAG.  I belt modigied the HEQ5 which was better. I decided to drop the focal length and got a ES102 F7 triplet which has a FL=714.  I found this was much more suited to the mount and I could guide easily with a 50mm guide scope and a cheap camera.  I also found that there are an abundant number of targets suited to the FOV of this scope.  I can get good results with exposures of 60 - 120 secs.  I can also add a Focal Reducer to widen the FOV if necessary.  All in all this combination was much more forgiving and within the tolerance of the mount.