Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skysensor 2000 with vixen GP mount motors problem

Hi all, first post so I trust I'm in the right place. I have tried other forums and everyone has been extremely helpful, unfortunately there may be no solution but here goes!

I've been using this set up for many years successfully but recently tripped over power cable that connects to a 1998 SS2KPC (running v 2.04) resulting in cable damage. This has now been repaired but now I can no longer power the motors on the mount when 'GOTO' is pressed and the 4 yellow direction keys will not move telescope despite red motor light showing on (pic2) These 4 buttons work perfectly with all other menus.  I have double checked the wiring by meter against diagrams on p114 of manual (pic 1) and repair is all correct and there is also 5v output into 8 pin plugs. Also all computer menus are available and all showing up correctly. All telescope configurations remain as they always have

I have also found that the unit memory cannot retain my location and time when turned off which I realise is an internal battery problem as it is registering just 0.08v rather than required 3.6v and another CN member has kindly posted on site instructions on how to replace. Would this affect motors though? I assume it is purely for memory.

I am nearly 100% positive the motors were not damaged and the two 8pin connecters show no sign of damage or being pulled out of motor sockets by the power cable accident so wondering why the motors are not getting the power. I know the set up is old but I'm very happy with it when it works and although parts are like hens teeth to find, if there is a solution or advice I would be greatly appreciative. I am I missing something really simple??

Many thanks.

Michael

Cloudy Manchester UK

diagram.jpg

ss2k.jpg

• 3 months later...

Id be surprised at that- the drivers will have current control and chopper circuits managing that.