SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Scope, tracking mount and tripod under £500

I'm looking for my first scope and Go-to tracking mount and tripod bundle. 

I've been using the SA for my astrophotography for about 2 years now and think its time to move up. 

Is there something out there for under £500 SH? 

For visual or astrophotography?  For visual, there's the Sky-Watcher SkyMax-127 AZ GTi for £476 from our sponsor FLO.  If a Mak doesn't suit you, you could get the Sky-Watcher Star Discovery 150i WiFi for £389 and have some money left over for eyepieces and other accessories.  If you insist on astrophotography, I think @banjaxed is right, most of your £500 will have to go toward the mount alone.

If you go secondhand you'll get a more future-proof set up within your budget.  There's an HEQ5 mount in the classifieds (part of a package, but seller says he may split) which would be a super mount for you (there's also the larger EQ6 at a good price, but you'll notice a huge difference in weight etc from your SA!! and it will be overkill for you at the moment).  The HEQ5 is much better than an EQ5 😉 

Helen

24 minutes ago, Leon-Fleet said:

@Helen thanks. 

I think SH is the way to go. although i find it all quite confusing. 

Am I right in thinking all GOTO mounts will track? So perhaps an EQ3 might suit my needs? 

A quick guide to mounts...

Two basic types: