SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help needed - beginner Telescope for Astrophotography

I've been doing visual observations for a few years now with an AZ mount. I'm planning on getting more serious about it and want to try astrophotography. 

I'm planning on getting the HEQ5 with SynScan, but I'm still unsure about the telescope. I'm mainly planning on doing DSO.

I was originally planning on getting the Evostar 120, but as it wasn't the "ED" version, I was told it wasn't great for DSO photography. I later started looking at reflectors as they were a lot cheaper for the same *performance*. Specifically the Explorer 150PDS, 200P and the 200PDS. 

Yet again I was told I shouldn't get any of those as reflectors aren't great for beginners in astrophotography. Hard to maintain and use for photography in general, for a beginner at least. 

I'm currently looking at the Evostar 80ED, but it's a bit over my budget. I'm only 17. I'm still really considering the 200P or the 200PDS and maybe the Evostar 80ED if someone gives me a good reason to go for it. 

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ivar, Norway. 

Edited by Ivar

IMO, the 200 is a bit the limit for the HEQ5. I use a 150p on mine and it's a great setup. 

But I concur that a reflector is slighly more complex to master than a refractor. Yet, I also have a Skywatcher ED80 I used as a first imaging scope, and there is really no comparison between the two! The frac doesn't get much use, nowadays. 

All the best, 

Fabio

1 hour ago, joe aguiar said:

Remember to budget for u may need auto guilder camera focal reducer compater(laptop)software, powertanks etc.

AP is alot more complex and expensive 

Joejaguar 

Yeah, I'm aware. I think I have covered most of these already. I know autoguiding is pretty useful for longer exposures, but is it really needed for the first year or so while I learn the basics? I feel like it's something I can add later on if needed.

2 hours ago, FaDG said: