SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Tulip Sh2-101 Cygnus Star Cloud / Tulip Nebula HaRGB

x6gas

I've been banging away at Sh2-101, the Tulip Nebula in Cygnus, for the last few clear nights shaking down my new CEM40 mount.  Initially I imaged this with my Tak FSQ85 but I wanted to see how the mount handled my TS130 Super Apo.  Focal length is still only 860mm and the whole rig is 12kg (26.5lbs) i.e. at 2/3rds of the rated (usually interpreted as for visual) payload capacity so this wasn't pushing the mount too hard but I didn't lose a sub to bad guiding over the three nights I captured this data.

My processing skills are coming back slowly but it feels I've still got a long way to go... mostly processed in PixInsight, which I am still learning, with some tweakery in PS.  On the HaRGB version I ended up adding the Ha as a luminance layer partly to increase contrast but partly to make the nebula pinker (didn't think I'd ever be doing that!) but the original deep red just didn't look right to me for this target...

Kit

Mount: CEM40; Camera: Atik 460ex; Filters: Atik EFW2 with unmounted Astrodons (Ha 5nm); Guiding: Atik OAG, QHY 5II

Data

Ha: 18 x 600s; RGB: 40 x 180s of each channel for a total integration time of 9 hours.  No calibrations frames at all, by the way.  The low noise of the Atik 460 means that I could get away with just using Cosmetic Correction in PI without darks, vignetting wasn't a problem (no field correction in this process) and my bias frames are over-correcting for reasons I haven't fathomed yet!

Anyway, Ha, RGB, and HaRGB versions and just for fun an Ha/OIII/SII version with the Ha data from the TS130 used as luminance over the colour process from the FSQ85 data.  Must admit that I like the RGB version as it shows off the lovely mix of blue and red stars.  The nebula is pretty bright in Ha and the HaRGB version kinda washes out the star field...