Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

looking at the SkyWatcher 8” Traditional Dobsonian (total noob here)

Total noob here first time post and need some friendly advice, 
I'm seriously thinking about getting into star gazing with telescopes and after looking around in various places it seems this is a good one to go for, I can see it's not that portable but still could be manageable with a bag and certainly doable with 2 people. 
I'm wondering what your thoughts are and if perhaps there are other options around this price range £200-300? 
As mentioned I'm a total noob with telescopes, all help and advise would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by Dumbo

It’s not a bad scope at all although the Bresser is probably a better buy as you get a lot more for your money. Far better spec and really needs nothing doing in the way of improvements except for replacing the finder but the Skywatcher finder needs replacing as well. Costs more up front but basicly nothing to spend aterwards on mods unlike the Skywatcher. Search 200p dob mods and you’ll see what I mean.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/bresser-telescopes/bresser-messier-8-dobsonian-telescope.html

You will find the 200p is pretty common on the second hand market though so if you can get it at the right price would be worth it. 

Edited by johninderby

Thank you very much john,
it's a little out of my price range I may consider 2nd hand however I'm extremely put off buying second hand unless form a reputable store. 
I could hold out a suppose and wait till  January. I feel like it's not a great idea to rush into anything like this.

Buying a second hand dob from someone on SGL or Astrobuysell is pretty safe and scopes are usually well looked after. Do stay away from 2nd hand on eBay, Gumtree etc as some of the scopes can be a bit dodgy.

The Skywatchers have been around for ages so lots come up second hand. The Bresser is a lot newer and very rarely seem to come up for sale second hand.